Skip to content

Please Remember

February 14, 2010

2 things:

(1st 16 minutes = speech, last 4 1/2 minutes = monologue.)

Sigh.

Sshhh.

An assortment of nonsecrets:

1) This week I have cried openly at 2 musical theatrical spectacles.  That particular brand of emotional lability is kind of a weird new current thing for me, but I can get into it.

2) That play I’m dropping in the mail on Monday?  I hate it.  But also, if you put it in a blender on the slowdance setting, it’s a work of literature so great it’s astonishimng and unlikely that nobody has ever written it before.  But also, that’s one of those things that’s a lie.

3) You could volunteer at Magnetic North Theatre Festival, maybe.  I’m sort of undecided as to whether I should apply to do this, so if you’re into it and I like you, that could certainly be a motivating factor, especially if you know (or are?) somebody I could stay with in Kitchener.  (Fun fact: I like to wash dishes in other people’s houses.)

4) This is not theatre, but: I sent a college program a note that said I LIKE YOU DO YOU LIKE ME? and it sent back YES YOU ARE OKAY DO YOU LIKE ME? CIRCLE YES and I did and it’s nice to do that in time for Valentine’s day but it’s also a little strange like realizing you inadvertently got married to the first person you ever kissed many years later but after explaining to about six people why you did it you’re like, “O WOW THIS IS ACTUALLY GOING TO BE SO RAD I DID NOT EVEN CONSIDER.”

5) Did you know that there is probably a production of The Vagina Monologues going on somewhere in the vicinity of you TODAY or SOONISH if you are living anywhere on the land-bits of the planet Earth?  It’s true!  Just ask Facebook.  Seriously, the odds that you don’t know somebody who is in this play right now are pretty slim if you’ve ever met anybody awesome at all, especially if one or more of the awesome people you know have and/or are fans of one or more vaginas.  On a related note, I’m totally up for hearing how you feel about The Vagina Monologues. Do you like them?  Do you dislike them?  Are you afraid to go see them?  (Don’t be afraid!  You get to holler CUNT! in a crowded theatre!!)  Do you have a favourite?  (I do.  Feel free to guess.)  Do you have prepared answers for the vagina questionnaire in case you are ever asked?  (I do not.  This is somewhat embarrassing and could get me in a fix someday, I know.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ELISHA! permalink
    February 14, 2010 5:26 pm

    teehee, landbits.

    p.s. that is the best way to apply for college.

    • ohmynoti permalink*
      February 14, 2010 9:39 pm

      i wish my description were less metaphorical. that would be amazing.

  2. February 14, 2010 5:51 pm

    …..a favourite vagina? or production of the monologues thereof?

    • rubyben permalink
      February 14, 2010 8:24 pm

      I do not currently have a favourite vagina. This seems like a failing.

      • ohmynoti permalink*
        February 14, 2010 9:38 pm

        no, that’s one of the great things about vaginas! you don’t have to play favourites! in this way, they are not unlike gummi bears.

    • ohmynoti permalink*
      February 14, 2010 9:36 pm

      i was thinking: favourite monologue from the collection.

  3. February 14, 2010 11:06 pm

    Ah. Well, I suppose the answer is still no, to both. I have never seen The Vagina Monologues.

Leave a Reply

