Skip to content

I love my mommy.

May 16, 2010

Conversation from our living room today went as follows.

MOM: I read your play.

ME: I don’t want to talk about it.

MOM: Good.

Okay, so we then clarified that neither of us had bitchy intentions there (and neither of us had thought the other one had either).  The thing is, there’s no way you could put that scene in front of 2 actors and not get a bitchy delivery in a cold reading.

Ah, the magic of the theatre.

I’ve noticed this in my writing, too.  Whenever I hand something to an actor for the first time, I always hear meaner words than I thought I’d written.

I don’t really want to extrapolate or philosophize on this.  It’s just a thing I’ve taken note of.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 8:17 pm

    that’s a terrible thing that happens.
    i blame everyone being so damn unhappy and so damn used to solemn shit on tv.
    i like things on tv that are nice.
    like cranford.
    watch cranford.
    seriously.

    • ohmynoti permalink*
      June 8, 2010 7:38 am

      when my dad was young he had a peer named cranston snord.

Leave a Reply

